Board of Directors

The responsibilities of the Board of Directors include managing the Trust on a day-to-day basis and planning for the organisation's future.

The Board consists of Executive Directors, who are usually full-time staff and have a permanent contract, and Non-Executive Directors, who are usually part-time and have a fixed term of office.

As from 31 October 2012 all the Trusts quarterly Board Meetings are open to the public.

You are welcome to attend, and ask questions if youd like to. Please check our events calendar for future dates.

If you have any questions about our Board Meetings please call HPFT's Company Secretary Barbara Suggitt on 01727 804642 or contact her at

Click here to find information on asking a question at the Board of Directors Meeting. If you would like to view papers for the next public meeting or read the summary of previous board meetings, please click here.

The effectiveness of the Board committees (Audit, Finance and Investment, Remuneration and Nomination and Integrated Governance) is considered on an ongoing basis via the regular reports presented to the Board of Directors at their monthly meetings.  Each Committee and the Board of Directors will be appraised annually.

The same person will chair both the Council of Governors and the Board of Directors, who are:


Chris Lawrence

Non Executive Directors

Simon Barter
Sarah Betteley
Peter Baynham
Manjeet Gill
Stephen Marsden 
Colin Sheppard 
Loyola Weeks

Chief Executive
Tom Cahill 

Executive Directors 
Iain Eaves: - Strategy and Commercial Development 
Keith Loveman : - Finance and Performance Improvement
Dr Geraldine O'Sullivan : - Quality and Medical Leadership
Dr Oliver Shanley: - Quality and Safety
Karen Taylor : - Chief Operating Officer

In attendance
Sue Darker : Herts County Council - Assistant Director for Mental Health and Learning Disability
Jinjer Kandola: - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development 
Barbara Suggitt : - Company Secretary