NHS Logo
As One Logo

HPFT staff achievements celebrated at prestigious awards

01 Dec 17 - 31 Jan 18

Hardworking NHS staff were rewarded for their efforts at a prestigious ceremony held at Tewin Bury Farm, in Hertfordshire, last night.


Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust’s (HPFT) Staff Awards is an annual event which recognises the important contribution staff make to improving the lives of people with mental ill health, learning difficulties and physical ill health.


The awards, which followed a fantastic Staff Development Awards, featuring Olympic badminton silver medallist Gail Emms, are an opportunity to highlight the exceptional contribution individuals or teams have made to the care and support of patients and service users, as well as their families and friends.


Awards are presented for excellence in a specific field, exceptional customer service, outstanding leadership, innovation and improvement and going the extra mile.


There is also an award for the volunteer who has made the most significant contribution to the lives of service users and carers and helped to enhance the delivery of HPFT services. In total, there were more than 230 nominations.


Tom Cahill, HPFT Chief Executive, said he was “truly humbled and immensely proud to be CEO” as he praised staff achievements and told them: “This is the moment when you finally get the recognition you deserve for all your hard work.

“We really value the important personal contribution you are making by developing your skills which will improve the lives our services and your colleagues. We appreciate your commitment and dedication.”


At the conclusion of the ceremony, Chris Lawrence, HPFT’s Chair, said: “What amazing and dedicated staff we have. They are justly held in such high esteem by their colleagues, teams, service users and their families. I am immensely proud of you all. You make HPFT what it is – an incredible organisation to be part of. Well done.”


2017 winners


Unsung Hero/Heroine Award

Dr Sara McNally


Innovation & Improvement Team Award - Gold

Swift Ward


Innovation & Improvement Team Award - Silver

Arts Therapies Department - North Essex


Innovation & Improvement Team Award - Bronze

Aston Ward


Chair’s Inspire Award

Elaine Edge


Council of Governors ‘Make a Difference Award’- Gold

Dove Ward


Council of Governors ‘Make a Difference Award’- Silver

Tracy Oliver


Council of Governors ‘Make a Difference Award’- Bronze

Penny Smith


Positive in Practice Award

Sarah Illsley


Leading our Values Award

Vanessa Taylor


Clinician of the Year Award  

Dr Sarah Cohen


Integrated Care / Partnerships Award

Lorenzo Cesaratto


Volunteer of the Year Award

Janet Knott


John Lewis ‘Valuing our Customers Award’ Individual

Rachel Williams


John Lewis ‘Valuing our Customers Award’ Team

Wellbeing Administration Team - East & South East Herts


Chief Executive’s Award 2017

Jamie Hart

Helen Bond

Contact Us