NHS Logo
As One Logo

Community Eating Disorders Service

What is an Eating Disorder?

Eating disorders are complex psychological problems that can cause intense distress, considerable physical risk and impairment in people’s social, occupational and other areas of functioning. The main types of eating disorders are Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa and Atypical Eating Disorders or sometimes referred to as EDNOS (i.e. Eating Disorder Not Otherwise Specified). Atypical eating disorders include Binge Eating Disorder , Atypical Anorexia Nervosa and Atypical Bulimia Nervosa.

Who is the service for?

We offer a service for adults who have moderate to severe eating disorders, including anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and atypical eating disorders including binge eating disorder across Hertfordshire

We do not treat people with obesity (unless they have an additional eating disorder) or individuals with loss of appetite or other conditions that involve significant weight loss that is due to physical illness.

Who works in the community eating disorders service?

We are a  multi-disciplinary team  which consists of staff with a variety of professional training backgrounds such as psychiatrists, psychologists, psychotherapists, nurse specialists, a dietician, an assistant psychologist, a support worker and administrative staff.

What does the service provide?

We offer assessment and treatment for individuals with eating disorders as well as support for families and carers.

Click here for our contact details.



Contact Us